(According to seniority)

Name	Division	Date of Appointment
R. O. GROTHÉ	De Salaberry. Rigaud. Stadacona. Shawinigan. Grandville. Golfe. Mille Isles. De Lanaudière. Wellington. Victoria. Les Laurentides. Alma. De la Vallière. De la Durantaye. Repentigny. La Salle. Sorel. Montarville. Rougemont. De Lorimier. Kennebec. Bedford. Lauzon. Inkerman.	Apr. 15, 1932 July 23, 1934 Jan. 14, 1938 Feb. 16, 1940 Jan. 14, 1942 Jan. 14, 1942 Jan. 23, 1946 Aug. 22, 1946

Subsection 6.-Ontario

The Government of Ontario consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a House of Assembly. The Honourable Justice John Keiller Mackay, Lieutenant-Governor at Jan. 1, 1961, was commissioned to office Dec. 30, 1957. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation (1867) are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 112.

The House of Assembly, the single-chamber Legislature of the province, is composed of 98 members elected for a statutory term of five years. Premiers since Confederation are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 112.

Besides the regular departments of government, the Niagara Parks Commission, the Ontario Municipal Board, The Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario, the Ontario-St. Lawrence Development Commission, the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission, the Liquor Control Board, the Liquor Licence Board, the Hospital Services Commission and The Water Resources Commission have been created.

Under the provisions of the Legislative Assembly Act (RSO 1950, c. 202, and amendments) each member of the Assembly is paid an annual indemnity of \$5,000 and an allowance of \$2,000 for expenses. In addition, the Speaker receives a special indemnity at the annual rate of \$3,000 and an expense allowance of \$2,000; the Chairman of the Committee of the Whole a special indemnity at the annual rate of \$2,000; and the Leader of the Opposition a salary of \$12,000 per annum. Each member of the Cabinet having charge of a department receives the ordinary indemnity as a member of the Legislature in addition to his salary as a Minister of the Crown. The salary provided in the Executive Council Act for the Premier is \$16,000 and for a Cabinet Minister having charge of a department \$12,000. By the 1956 amendment, every Minister of the Crown in charge